Don’t Give Up Your Hobbies!

When I grew up and started a family and a home of my own, and a full-time job on top of it, I quickly fell in love with my kids, my husband and my life.  I also  quickly became tired.  Life is hard all by itself, then we throw in day-to-day stress, drama (everybody has a little drama, right?), responsibilities and we do the best we can.  It can get very hectic and exhausting.  The kids have their activities and school.  You have schedules to keep and people to please.  Since there is only so much time in a day, and a week, and a month, the first thing that went down the drain was my hobby.  I completely stopped drawing and creating things.

Well, I’m here to tell you that you shouldn’t completely stop doing the things you love to do.  I recently, within the last 6 months, started picking up my paintbrush again, and I started making  jewelry.  I immediately started to feel relaxed on a daily basis, just knowing that when I got home, after everything was done that needed to be done, I could sit down and make something.  Whenever I’m stressed or worried about something, or even mad, I get out my supplies and go through them, figuring out what I’m going to make next, and then I do it.  When the rest of the family sees how happy, calm and relaxed I am, humming a tune while I create, the whole house moves in a nice, peaceful rhythm.

I feel like I’ve found a part of ME again.  A part of me that that I had forgotten about.  So whether it’s golf you like, or reading, or gardening, or whatever – take some time out for yourself.  And not just once.  Make it part of your regular routine.  You may not even have to leave the house.  If you love photography, grab your camera and go out back and spend some time taking pictures.  Piddle around in the garage again.  You will be surprised how quickly your little world calms down around you, and an inner peace enters.

Hobbies are good for the soul!  We all have something we like to do.  So if  you are feeling like there’s no time for YOU, there is.  You just have to make that time for yourself.   And if you don’t have a hobby, get one.  There must be something you have always wanted to try, or remember trying long ago.

So grab your fishing pole or your drum sticks or your paint set and have a wonderful, relaxing weekend everyone!

2 responses to “Don’t Give Up Your Hobbies!

  1. What a sweet, and reflective post with good advice. Loved this line- “You will be surprised how quickly your little world calms down around you, and an inner peace enters.” I sat down tonight and started sketching. I will do them as watercolors this week, and hopefully start the actual canvas paintings next week. (At least the first one.)

    Hope you have a wonderful, and inspiring week.

    • Hi! I’m so sorry it took me so long to reply. I haven’t been online lately. Thank you for your comment – so glad you sat down to start sketching. Is that your passion? I hope you enjoy it! And I hope you have a wonderful week. Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

